Each year the recipient(s) of the Warren Alpert Foundation Prize are recognized at a scientific symposium hosted by Harvard Medical School.

October 3, 2019 - 1:30pm to 5:30pm


Optogenetics: Illuminating the Path toward Causal Neuroscience

In honor of Edward Boyden, Karl Deisseroth, Peter Hegemann, Gero Miesenböck

for the development of optogenetics as a way to control the activity of specific circuits in the nervous system, to determine their function and ultimately to control them to treat neurological and psychiatric disorders.

Featured Speakers Include:

Edward Boyden, PhD
Y. Eva Tan Professor in Neurotechnology
MIT Media Lab and McGovern Institute
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Karl Deisseroth, MD, PhD
D.H. Chen Professor of Bioengineering and Psychiatry
Stanford University
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Peter Hegemann, PhD
Hertie Professor for Neuroscience and Head of Experimental Biophysics
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Gero Miesenböck, FRS
Waynflete Professor of Physiology and Founding Director of the Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour
University of Oxford

Invited Speakers Include:

Charlotte Arlt, PhD
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Department of Neurobiology
Harvard Medical School

Kimberly Reinhold, PhD
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Department of Neurobiology
Harvard Medical School


Joseph B. Martin Conference Center, New Research Building
Harvard Medical School
77 Avenue Louis Pasteur, Boston

Open to the Public

Seating is on a first come, first served basis

Past Symposia

October 4, 2018 - 1:30pm to 5:30pm
October 5, 2017 - 1:30pm to 5:30pm
October 6, 2016 - 1:30pm to 5:30pm
October 1, 2015 - 2:00pm to 5:30pm
October 2, 2014 - 2:00pm to 5:30pm
October 3, 2013 - 2:30pm to 5:30pm
September 24, 2012 - 2:30pm to 5:30pm